Saturday, June 22, 2024
Faculty of Biological Sciences
Under the supervision of Basic Sciences Faculty, Department of Biology, founded in 1983, commenced its educational activities alongside three Departments of Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. Biology Teacher Training was the first program offered by this Department. After the development of three independent faculties in 2014, the department of Biology, renamed Faculty of Biological Sciences, commenced its independent programs. Currently, the Faculty comprises three Departments of Botany and Plant Sciences, Biotechnology, and Microbiology and offers fields of Microbial Biotechnology and Microbiology, Plant Sciences (with branches of Physiology and Systematic Ecology), Biochemistry, and Biophysics.
Faculty members collaborate actively with Iranian Biology Society, Iranian Society of Weed Science, and The Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD). The faculty is ready to financially support most of higher education research projects which are based on students’ theses and dissertations.
Research areas explored so far include:

Botany and Plant Sciences:

     Plant tissue culture especially in herbal medicinal plants
     Fluorine identification of different regional growth and molecular, biosystematics investigation of antioxidants and their effects


     Helicobacter pylori
     New diagnostic kits
     Beneficial and harmful bacteria
     Historic building erosion


     Enzyme activity experiment
     Pigment extraction from different organism
     Industrial fermentation
     Green biotechnology
     Gene polymorphism


     Botany and Plant Sciences


      Research Farm
      Refrigerating System
      TV sets
      Video projectors
      Audio-visual educational aids
      Computer Site 
      Conference Hall
Alzahra University
@2017, Alzahra University, Tehran, Iran P.Code: 1993891176,   Tel: (+9821) 88044040 Fax: (+9821)88035187
Send your Sugestions to:
All Copyright Reserve for Alzahra University